Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
Book Title

The King's Touch

Subtitle
Poems
Author 1
Tom Sleigh
Poem Excerpt
No drip line to uncrimp, no one needing
to intubate the moon or hold the little plastic basin
to the sky’s lips. “The sun is an insult,” wrote one.

Millions on millions of stacked-up rooms
where screens become a hive mind
thinking it, seeing it, saying it over and over again.

—from “Little Testament”
Body
Tom Sleigh’s poems are skeptical of the inevitability of our fate, but in this brilliant new collection, they are charged with a powerful sense of premonition, as if the future is unfolding before us, demanding something greater than the self. Justice is a prevailing force, even while the poems are fully cognizant of the refugee crisis, war, famine, and the brutal reality of a crowded hospital morgue.
           
The King’s Touch collides the world of fact and the world of mystery with a resolutely secular register. The title poem refers to the once-held belief that the king, as a divine representative, is imbued with the power of healing touch. Sleigh turns this encounter between illness and human contact toward his own chronic blood disease and the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and its mounting death tolls. One poem asks, “isn’t it true that no matter how long you / wear them, masks don’t grieve, only faces do?”
           
In this essential new work, Sleigh shows how the language of poetry itself can revive and recuperate a sense of a future under the conditions of violence, social unrest, and global anxiety about the fate of the planet.

Share Title

List Price
$16.00
ISBN
ISBN
978-1-64445-077-2
Format
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
Publication Date
Subject
Subject
Pages
Pages
112
Trim Size
Trim Size
6.5 x 9
Keynote
A profound encounter with the hyperreality of our time of global upheaval, violence, and pandemic.

About the Author

Tom  Sleigh
Credit: Annette Hornischer
Tom Sleigh is the author of ten books of poetry, most recently House of Fact, House of Ruin; Station Zed; Army Cats; and Space Walk, winner of the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award. He is also the author of two essay collections, The Land between Two Rivers: Writing in an Age of Refugees and Interview with a Ghost. Sleigh teaches at Hunter College and lives in New York.

http://www.tomsleigh.com/
 
More by author

Upcoming Events

VIRTUAL: Tom Sleigh reading and in conversation with Asako Serizawa about THE KING'S TOUCH, presented by Fine Arts Work Center Provincetown

Date:
ET
Location:
Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, MAview map
2:00 PM PT / 3:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM ET. Event will be broadcast via Zoom. Click here for more information and to register.

Tom Sleigh reading from THE KING'S TOUCH as part of the KGB Monday Night Poetry Series at KGB Bar

Date:
ET
Location:
KGB Reading Series in New York, NYview map
With Andrea Cohen and Star Black. Doors open at 7:00 PM ET, event begins at 7:30 PM ET. Click here for more information

Tom Sleigh reading and in conversation about THE KING'S TOUCH as part of the Louisville Conference on Literature and Culture

Date:
ET
Location:
Louisville Conference on Literature and Culture in view map
12:30 PM PT / 1:30 PM MT / 2:30 PM CT / 3:30 PM ET. Please check back for registration details. 

Tom Sleigh reading and in conversation about THE KING'S TOUCH as part of the Modern Masters Reading Series at Loyola University Maryland

Date:
ET
Location:
Loyola University Maryland in Baltimore, MDview map
Event will be held in McManus Theater. Click here for more information

Tom Sleigh reading and in conversation about THE KING'S TOUCH at Hunter College

Date:
ET
Location:
Hunter College in New York, NYview map
Event will be held in the 8th Floor Faculty Dining Room in the Hunter West Building (68th Street & Lexington Avenue; closest subways are 6 train to 68th St or Q and F trains to Lexington Ave / 63rd St). All visitors to campus must wear a mask at all times and fill out the information here. 

Tom Sleigh reading and in conversation with Alan Shapiro about THE KING'S TOUCH as part of the Blacksmith House Poetry Series

Date:
ET
Location:
Blacksmith House in Cambridge, MAview map

Tom Sleigh delivering the MacGill keynote lecture at University of Southern California

Date:
PT
Location:
University of Southern California in Los Angeles, CAview map
Location: Doheny Library, 2nd Floor. Introduced by Mark Irwin.

Tom Sleigh reading and in conversation about THE KING'S TOUCH at Texas Tech University

Date:
CT
Location:
Texas Tech University in Lubbock, TXview map
Event will be held in English & Philosophy 001. 

Praise

Back to Table of Contents