Small wolf figurine at the Graywolf office

Board and Staff

Graywolf Press is led by Director and Publisher Fiona McCrae.

Our Board of Directors has between twenty and twenty-five members and provides fiduciary oversight of Graywolf’s operations. We have awarded Board Emeritus status to former board members who have made a significant impact in the history of the press.

The National Council is an informed advisory group of donors and friends across the country who support Graywolf’s efforts on a local basis, especially in the Bay Area, Boston, Chicago, New York, Portland (Oregon), the Twin Cities, and Washington, DC.

Contact Us

Jobs and Internships


Marisa Atkinson, Director of Marketing and Engagement, oversees the marketing and publicity department and the campaigns for our books, and is responsible for event programming strategy.

Mattan Comay, Sales and Operations Coordinator, manages reprints and award submissions, monitors book sales, and processes Graywolf’s accounts payable.

Katie Dublinski, Associate Publisher, oversees book production and art direction, handles subsidiary rights, and occasionally acquires fiction and nonfiction titles.

Chantz Erolin, Editorial and Production Associate, supports Katie Dublinski and Jeff Shotts, manages poetry submissions, and acts as in-house copyeditor.

Rachel Fulkerson, Development Consultant, provides guidance on fundraising initiatives and events.

Leslie Johnson, Managing Director, oversees finance, HR, and technology, and works with the Board of Directors.

Morgan LaRocca, Publicity Associate, serves as publicist for select titles each season.

Anni Liu, Editorial Assistant, supports Fiona McCrae and Ethan Nosowsky, serves as rights assistant, and coordinates the Graywolf Press Africa Prize.

Pat Marjoram, Accountant, processes Graywolf’s monthly financial statements.

Fiona McCrae, Director and Publisher, serves as Graywolf’s executive director. She oversees all departments and works closely with our Board of Directors. She also acquires fiction and nonfiction, and represents Graywolf nationally and internationally at conferences and events.

Caroline Nitz, Senior Publicity Manager, coordinates media coverage for Graywolf, our staff, and our authors; she also manages Graywolf’s newsletter and our Twitter and Facebook accounts.

Ethan Nosowsky, Editorial Director, is responsible for shaping Graywolf’s prose lists; he acquires fiction and nonfiction titles.

Casey O’Neil, Sales Director, works with our distributor (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), our sales representatives, and booksellers around the country to ensure Graywolf books are well represented in the marketplace.

Josh Ostergaard, Development Officer, stewards Graywolf’s major donors, including members of our National Council, and manages fundraising events.

Shaina Robinson, Marketing and Events Assistant, supports the marketing and publicity department by booking author tour events.

Jeff Shotts, Executive Editor, is responsible for Graywolf’s poetry list; he also acquires literary nonfiction and criticism titles.

Shiraz Sitaram, Development Coordinator, supports the development department by processing gifts, coordinating the Graywolf Galley Club, and writing grants.

Steve Woodward, Editor, works closely with Fiona McCrae and edits fiction and nonfiction manuscripts. He also coordinates the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize.

Graywolf staff at an internal publishing meeting

There hasn't been a single moment in my nearly five years with Graywolf when I haven't been treated with absolute respect, by people who are clearly superb at their jobs.

J. Robert Lennon

Board of Directors

Trish F. Anderson (chair), Carol Bemis, Art Berman, Karin Birkeland, Kathleen Boe, Milo Cumaranatunge, Rick Dow, Mark Jensen, Michelle Keeley, Chris Kirwan, Jill Koosmann, Maura Rainey McCormack, Zachary McMillan, Sharon Pierce, Cathy Polasky, James B. Short, Winifred Smith, Debra Stone, Judy Titcomb

Board Emeritus

Marilynn Alcott, Betsy Atwater, Ann Bitter, Page Knudsen Cowles, Sally Dixon, Colin Hamilton, Diane Herman, Ed McConaghay, Katherine Murphy, Mary Polta, Bruno Quinson, Gail See, Kay Sexton, Margaret Telfer, Melinda Ward, John Wheelihan, Margaret Wurtele

National Council

Maura Rainey McCormack (chair), Catherine Allan, Susan Anderson, Betsy Atwater, Marion Brown, Kelsey Cerovac, Edwin Cohen, Page Knudsen Cowles, Ellen Flamm, Vicki Ford, Lee Freeman, Paul Griffiths, John Michael Hemsley, James Hoecker, Barbara Holmes, Georgia Murphy Johnson, Jacqueline Jones LaMon, Guy Lampard, Shawn Liu, Chris LaVictoire Mahai, Kevin Martin, Elise Paschen, Shahina Piyarali, Bruno Quinson, Susan Ritz, Marita Rivero, Paula Roe, Eunice Salton, Salvatore Scibona, Gail See, Sushma Sheth, Stephanie Stebich, Louise Steinman, Kathryn B. Swintek, Kate Tabner, Margaret Telfer, Nancy Temple, Diane Thormodsgard, Glyn Vincent, Joanne Von Blon, Kristin Walrod, Tappan Wilder, Shirley Zanton