Graywolf Press publishes about 30-35 books annually, mostly poetry, memoirs, essays, novels, translations, and short stories.

Our editors are looking for high quality literary fiction, nonfiction, and poetry that combine a distinct voice with a distinct vision. Our editors seek out and solicit promising work from authors that they encounter in the pages of magazines, at writing conferences, and in other venues.

Please note that we do not accept unsolicited submissions outside of open periods and contests.

Submission Guidelines


Graywolf Press partners with the Academy of American Poets, Cave Canem, and the Poetry Foundation to publish and promote the work of new and emerging writers.

[ more + ]


Agents may submit nonfiction submissions to the appropriate editor for consideration. Graywolf accepts submissions for the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize every other year. The January 2018 submission period is now closed.

[ more + ]


Agents may submit fiction submissions to the appropriate editor for consideration.

The 2019 open submissions period for the Graywolf Press Africa Prize will be from May 1 to May 31. Graywolf accepts submissions for the Graywolf Press Africa Prize every other year.

[ more + ]

Recommended Reading

Tony Hoagland
James Longenbach
Benjamin Percy
Claudia Rankine
10th Anniversary Edition
Eula Biss
Charles Baxter
Brenda Ueland, Andrei Codrescu
Robert Boswell

The Craft of Writing

This collection of pieces on the craft of writing are contributed by Graywolf authors and staff members.

Fiona McCrae on First Pages
Mary Szybist on Visual Poetry
Jeff Shotts on the Art of Rejection
Susan Steinberg on Punctuation
Charles Baxter on the Request Moment
Sarah Manguso on Connection
Harryette Mullen on Starting a Tanka Diary
Tom Sleigh on Haibun, Bashō, the Poet as Journalist as Poet
Robert Boswell on Having Gravity and Having Weight
Tony Hoagland on "Image Out of Sound"