Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Tomb Song

A Novel
Julián Herbert; Translated from the Spanish by Christina MacSweeney
Sitting at the bedside of his mother as she is dying from leukemia in a hospital in northern Mexico, the narrator of Tomb Song is immersed in memories of his unstable boyhood and youth. His mother, Guadalupe, was a prostitute, and Julián spent his childhood with his half brothers and sisters, each from a different father, moving from city to city and from one tough neighborhood to the next.

Swinging from the present to the past and back again, Tomb Song is not only an affecting coming-of-age story but also a searching and sometimes frenetic portrait of the artist. As he wanders the hospital, from its buzzing upper floors to the haunted depths of the morgue, Julián tells fevered stories of his life as a writer, from a trip with his pregnant wife to a poetry festival in Berlin to a drug-fueled and possibly completely imagined trip to another festival in Cuba. Throughout, he portrays the margins of Mexican society as well as the attitudes, prejudices, contradictions, and occasionally absurd history of a country ravaged by corruption, violence, and dysfunction.

Inhabiting the fertile ground between fiction, memoir, and essay, Tomb Song is an electric prose performance, a kaleidoscopic, tender, and often darkly funny exploration of sex, love, and death. Julián Herbert’s English-language debut establishes him as one of the most audacious voices in contemporary letters.

Share Title

$16.00
ISBN
978-1-55597-799-3
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
Subject
Pages
224
Trim Size
5.5 x 8.25
An incandescent new voice from Mexico, for readers of Ben Lerner and Rachel Cusk

About the Author

Julián  Herbert
Credit: Ignacio Valdez

Julián Herbert was born in Acapulco in 1971. He is a writer, musician, and teacher, and is the author of several poetry collections, a novel, and a story collection, as well as a book of reportage. He lives in Saltillo, Mexico.
 

More by author
Christina MacSweeney is the translator of Tomb Song, and has published translations, articles, and interviews on a wide variety of platforms and contributed to several anthologies. She was awarded the 2016 Valle Inclán Translation Prize for her translation of Valeria Luiselli's The Story of My Teeth. She lives in England.
More by author

Praise

  • “This novel sprawls, but never loses sight of the human connection at its core—and it's all the more moving as a result.”Star Tribune (Minneapolis)
     
  • “Simultaneously gorgeous and dirty, [Herbert] brings us poignant moments of beauty.”Washington Independent Review of Books
     
  • “Herbert takes a deep dive into an emotional, interconnected story on death, family, love and ambition, resulting in a work that is at once personal and universal.”Cedar Rapids Gazette
  • “At once a thrilling document of lives spent along the margins, and a bright burst of formal reinvention, Tomb Song remains elegiac and life-affirming.”BOMB
     
Back to Table of Contents