Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

SUPPORT INDIE BOOKSTORES—now is the time to buy some books—or even better, gift certificates—from your local favorite. Or try out where 30% of proceeds go to the virtual indie storefront of your choice.

Another World Instead

The Early Poems of William Stafford, 1937-1947
William Stafford; Edited by Fred Marchant
"I stand and dream another world instead," wrote William Stafford in 1942. The other world he dreamed of was one of peace and freedom. Twenty-eight years old and a conscientious objector during World War II, he was assigned under penalty of law to work in camps, an internal exile within his own country. In this remarkable collection of poems, nearly all of them never before published, the first decade of Stafford's writing life is for the first time made available to readers. Edited by poet Fred Marchant, one of the first Marine officers honorably discharged as a conscientious objector during the Vietnam War, Another World Instead tells the story of a committed pacifist living in a time of war and a writer beginning a major life in American poetry.

"William Stafford's quiet presence in the landscape of American poetry in my lifetime has been a kind of continuing reassurance whose value always seemed to me beyond question. . . . I think his work as a whole will go on surprising us, growing as we recognize it, bearing witness in plain language to the holiness of the heart's affections which he seemed never to doubt. A treasure that he has left us."—W. S. Merwin

Share Title

Publication Date
Trim Size
6 x 9
The unpublished early poems of William Stafford now added to "a body of work that represents some of the finest poetry written during the second half of [the twentieth] century."—Library Journal

About the Author

William  Stafford
Credit: Kim Stafford

William Stafford (1914–1993) was the author of more than sixty books, including Traveling through the Dark, winner of the National Book Award, and The Way It Is: New and Selected Poems. He was appointed Poetry Consultant for the Library of Congress (1971–1972), and he was named Oregon Poet Laureate. He taught for many years at Lewis and Clark College in Portland, Oregon, and mentored countless writers around the world.

More by author
Fred  Marchant
Credit: Stefi Rubin
Fred Marchant is the author of five books of poetry, including Said Not Said, The Looking House and Full Moon Boat. He is Emeritus Professor of English at Suffolk University and lives in Arlington, Massachusetts.
More by author


Back to Table of Contents