Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

PRIZE NEWS:  frank: sonnets by Diane Seuss wins the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry and Yellow Rain by Mai Der Vang named a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. More here

Book Title

Voice of the Fish

Subtitle
A Lyric Essay
Author 1
Lars Horn
Body
Lars Horn’s Voice of the Fish, the latest Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize winner, is an interwoven essay collection that explores the trans experience through themes of water, fish, and mythology, set against the backdrop of travels in Russia and a debilitating back injury that left Horn temporarily unable to speak. In Horn’s adept hands, the collection takes shape as a unified book: short vignettes about fish, reliquaries, and antiquities serve as interludes between longer essays, knitting together a sinuous, wave-like form that flows across the book.
 
Horn swims through a range of subjects, roving across marine history, theology, questions of the body and gender, sexuality, transmasculinity, and illness. From Horn’s upbringing with a mother who used them as a model in photos and art installations—memorably in a photography session in an ice bath with dead squid—to Horn’s travels before they were out as trans, these essays are linked by a desire to interrogate liminal physicalities. Horn reexamines the oft-presumed uniformity of bodily experience, breaking down the implied singularity of “the body” as cultural and scientific object. The essays instead privilege ways of seeing and being that resist binaries, ways that falter, fracture, mutate. A sui generis work of nonfiction, Voice of the Fish blends the aquatic, mystical, and physical to reach a place beyond them all.

Share Title

List Price
$16.00
ISBN
ISBN
978-1-64445-089-5
Format
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
Publication Date
Subject
Pages
Pages
240
Trim Size
Trim Size
5.5 x 8.25
Keynote
Winner of the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize, a lyric essay on transmasculinity and the oceanic world

About the Author

Lars  Horn
Credit: Richard Allen
Lars Horn holds MAs from the University of Edinburgh; the École normale supérieure, Paris; and Concordia University, Montreal. Horn’s work has appeared in the Kenyon Review, Write Across Canada, and New Writing Scotland. They live in Miami.
More by author

Upcoming Events

Lars Horn reading and in conversation with Jaquira Díaz about VOICE OF THE FISH, presented by Elliott Bay Book Company

Date:
PT
Location:
Elliott Bay Book Co in Seattle, WAview map
7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET. This event is free and open to the public. Click here for more information and to register. Copies of VOICE OF THE FISH are available for purchase at Elliott Bay's online store.

Lars Horn reading and in conversation with Jaquira Díaz about VOICE OF THE FISH, presented by Skylight Books

Date:
PT
Location:
Skylight Books in Los Angeles, CAview map
7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET. This in-person event is free and open to the public. Click here for more information. Copies of VOICE OF THE FISH are available for purchase at the Skylight Books online store.

Lars Horn reading and in conversation with Elena Passarello about VOICE OF THE FISH, presented by Powell's Books

Date:
PT
Location:
Powell's - Burnside in Portland, ORview map
7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET. This event is free and open to the public. Click here for more information. Copies of VOICE OF THE FISH are available for purchase at the Powell’s online store.

VIRTUAL: Lars Horn reading and in conversation with Carolina De Robertis about VOICE OF THE FISH, presented by City Lights

Date:
PT
Location:
City Lights Bookstore in San Francisco, CAview map
6:00 PM PT / 7:00 PM MT / 8:00 PM CT / 9:00 PM ET. This virtual event is free and open to the public. Click here for more information and to register for the event. Copies of VOICE OF THE FISH are available for purchase at the City Lights Bookstore’s online store.

Lars Horn in conversation with Maaza Mengiste about VOICE OF THE FISH, presented by Books Are Magic

Date:
ET
Location:
Books Are Magic in Brooklyn, NYview map
4:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM MT / 6:00 PM CT / 7:00 PM ET. Tickets are limited to restrict capacity at the store, and each ticket will include either a copy of the featured book or a $10 Books Are Magic gift card. The event will also be broadcast on YouTube. Click here for more information and to register for the event. Copies of VOICE OF THE FISH will be available for purchase at the event and Books Are Magic's online store. All attendees must wear a face mask at all times and provide proof of vaccination in order to enter event.

Praise

  • “Ocean-deep and brimming with beauty, Voice of the Fish is a wondrous book, formed with the expansiveness and strong currents of a vast body of water. I didn't want to leave until I'd seen every glowing image.”—Elissa Washuta
     
  • Voice of the Fish is a mighty and innovative work unshackled from the patriarchal and heteronormative syntax and prose of the accepted literary cannon. . . . Adventurous, bold, antiauthoritarian, and physical, we would all be well served to take note of this generation of new writers to which Horn belongs, sending us missives from the future of language and storytelling”—Casey Legler
  • “Casting a wide net into the realms of knowing and existing, trawling the depths of the past and the body, Lars Horn steers us in pristine and ponderous prose to places where the body is washed up, transformed, reborn. Voice of the Fish is a dazzling assemblage of essaying at its finest.”—Jenny Boully
  • "[...] Horn offers fascinating piscine lore, rendered in prose that’s grounded and evocative even when hallucinatory [...]. The result is a sonorous meditation on living a fluid life."–Publishers Weekly
Back to Table of Contents