Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Let Me Think

Stories
J. Robert Lennon

Let Me Think is a meticulous selection of short stories by one of the preeminent chroniclers of the American absurd. Through J. Robert Lennon’s mordant yet sympathetic eye, the quotidian realities of marriage, family, and work are rendered powerfully strange in this rich and innovative collection.

These stories, most no more than a few pages, are at once experimental and compulsively readable, the work of an expert craftsman who can sketch whole lives in a mere handful of lines, or reveal, over pages, the boundless complexity of a passing thought. Here you’ll find a heist gone wrong, a case of mistaken identity, a hostile encounter with a neighborhood eccentric, a glass eye, a talking owl, and a six-fingered hand. Whatever the subject, Lennon disarms the reader with humor before pivoting to pathos, pain, and disappointment—most notably in an extraordinary sequence of darting, painfully funny fictions about a disintegrating marriage that captures the myriad ways intimacy can fail us, and the ways that we can fail it.

Like Lennon’s earlier story collection Pieces for the Left Hand, Let Me Think holds a mirror up to our long-held grudges and secret desires, our petty resentments and moments of redeeming grace, and confirms him as a virtuoso of the form.

Share Title

$16.00
ISBN
978-1-64445-049-9
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
Subject
Pages
224
Trim Size
5.5 x 8.25
A new collection of short fiction by the author of the cult classic Pieces for the Left Hand

About the Author

J. Robert  Lennon
J. Robert Lennon is the author of nine novels, including Subdivision and Broken River, and three story collections, Let Me Think, Pieces for the Left Hand, and See You in Paradise. He lives in Ithaca, New York.

http://jrobertlennon.com/
More by author

Upcoming Events

VIRTUAL: J. Robert Lennon in conversation with Elisa Gabbert, presented by Harvard Book Store

Date:
CDT
Location:
Harvard Book Store in Cambridge, MAview map

4:00 PM Pacific / 6:00 PM Central / 7:00 PM Eastern. On Zoom. Free and open to the public. Register here. Copies of Let Me Think and Subdivision are available for purchase from Harvard Book Store.

VIRTUAL: J. Robert Lennon (LET ME THINK) and Dorthe Nors (WILD SWIMS) reading and in conversation, presented by Literati Bookstore

Date:
Location:
Literati Bookstore in Ann Arbor, MIview map
3 PM Pacific / 5 PM Central / 6 PM Eastern. Part of the At Home With Literati series. This event is free and open to the public and will be broadcast on Zoom. Click here for more information and to register. Copies of Wild Swims, Let Me Thinkand Subdivision are available for purchase from Literati Bookstore. 

Praise

  • “[Let Me Think] is an indelible assortment of characters in flux, fighting, flailing, failing to communicate, and eating or not eating (or hate-eating) pie. Each of the 71 stories, some just a sentence or paragraph long, tackles the small and large disappointments, existential horrors and mundane joys of modern life.”—The New York Times Book Review
     
Back to Table of Contents