Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Tickets are available for Graywolf Literary Gala in Minneapolis on September 19. For more details about the event or to make a gift in honor of our 50th anniversary, click here

Book Title

Collected Poems

Author 1
Jane Kenyon
Jane Kenyon is considered one of America's best contemporary poets. Her previous collection, Otherwise: New & Selected Poems, published just after her death in 1995, has been a favorite among readers, with over 80,000 copies in print, and is a contemporary classic.

Kenyon's Collected Poems assembles all of her published poetry in one book. Included here are the complete poems found in her four previous volumes—From Room to Room, The Boat of Quiet Hours, Let Evening Come, and Constance—as well as the poems that appear in her posthumous volumes Otherwise and A Hundred White Daffodils, four poems never before published in book form, and her translations in Twenty Poems of Anna Akhmatova.
Praise for Jane Kenyon:
"Her words, with their quiet, rapt force, their pensiveness and wit, come to use from natural speech, from the Bible and hymns, from which she derived the singular psalmlike music that is hers alone."—Carol Muske, The New York Times Book Review

"In a just world, Otherwise—beautifully designed by Graywolf—would become a bestseller."—Michael Dirda, The Washington Post

Share Title

List Price
Publication Date
Publication Date
Trim Size
Trim Size
6 x 9
All of beloved poet Jane Kenyon's published poems gathered together in one definitive collection, now in paperback.

About the Author

Jane  Kenyon
Credit: Ken Williams
Jane Kenyon was born in Ann Arbor and graduated from the University of Michigan. She published four collections of poetry during her lifetime—From Room to Room (Alice James Books, 1978), The Boat of Quiet Hours (Graywolf Press, 1986), Let Evening Come (Graywolf Press, 1990), and Constance (Graywolf Press, 1993)—and a volume of translations, Twenty Poems of Anna Akhmatova (Eighties Press/Ally Press, 1985). She is the author of a posthumous collection, Otherwise: New & Selected Poems (Graywolf Press, 1996). A Hundred White Daffodils (Graywolf Press, 1999) collects Kenyon’s essays, interviews, newspaper columns, and other work. Before his death, her husband, Donald Hall, selected The Best Poems of Jane Kenyon (Graywolf Press, 2020). Kenyon lived in Wilmot, New Hampshire, until her death in 1995.
More by author


  • “Readers couldn’t choose a more trustworthy companion to the life of feeling than the poetry of Jane Kenyon, now collected in a single, beautiful volume. . . . Essential reading.”—Mark Doty, O, The Oprah Magazine
  • “[Kenyon’s] memorable poems trace the channels of extraordinary spiritual trials and the measured redemptions of an extraordinary imagination.”—Robert Pinsky, The Washington Post Book World
  • “[Jane Kenyon] remains a celebrated poet whose work and memory are being honored.”Los Angeles Times Book Review
  • “A treasure.”The Boston Globe


This book is made possible through a partnership with the College of St. Benedict, in honor of the legacy of S. Mariella Gable, a distinguished teacher at the College, and by the generosity of Graywolf Press donors like you.
Back to Table of Contents