Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

 The Twilight Zone by Nona Fernández Has Been Shortlisted for the National Book Award for Translated Literature.

Book Title

The Art of Revision

Subtitle
The Last Word
Author 1
Peter Ho Davies
Body
In The Art of Revision: The Last Word, Peter Ho Davies takes up an often discussed yet frequently misunderstood subject. He begins by addressing the invisibility of revision—even though it’s an essential part of the writing process, readers typically only see a final draft, leaving the practice shrouded in mystery. To combat this, Davies pulls examples from his novels The Welsh Girl and The Fortunes, as well as from the work of other writers, including Flannery O’Connor, Carmen Maria Machado, and Raymond Carver, shedding light on this slippery subject.

Davies also looks beyond literature to work that has been adapted or rewritten, such as books made into films, stories rewritten by another author, and the practice of retconning in comics and film. In an affecting frame story, Davies recounts the story of a violent encounter in his youth, which he then retells over the years, culminating in a final telling at the funeral of his father. In this way, the book arrives at an exhilarating mode of thinking about revision—that it is the writer who must change, as well as the writing. The result is a book that is as useful as it is moving, one that asks writers to reflect upon themselves and their writing.
 

Share Title

List Price
$14.00
ISBN
ISBN
978-1-64445-039-0
Format
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
Publication Date
Subject
Pages
Pages
192
Series
Series
Trim Size
Trim Size
5 x 7
Keynote
The fifteenth volume in the Art of Series takes an expansive view of revision—on the page and in life

About the Author

Peter Ho Davies
Credit: Lynne Raughley

Peter Ho Davies is the author of three novels, including A Lie Someone Told You About Yourself, and two story collections. The winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Award and the PEN/Malamud Prize, he teaches at the University of Michigan and lives in Ann Arbor.

More by author

Upcoming Events

VIRTUAL: Peter Ho Davies reading and in conversation with Daniel Tam-Claiborne about THE ART OF REVISION, presented by Hugo House

Date:
PT
Location:
Hugo House in Seattle, WAview map
5:30 PM PT / 6:30 PM MT / 7:30 PM CT / 8:30 PM ET. This event is free and open to the public and will be broadcast via Crowdcast. Please check back for registration details. Copies of The Art of Revision are available for purchase from Elliott Bay Book Company

VIRTUAL: Peter Ho Davies reading and in conversation with editor Steve Woodward about THE ART OF REVISION, presented by Literati Bookstore

Date:
ET
Location:
Literati Bookstore in Ann Arbor, MIview map
4:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM MT / 6:00 PM CT / 7:00 PM ET. This event is free and open to the public and will be broadcast via Zoom. Click here for more information and to join the Zoom webinar at the time of the event. Copies of The Art of Revision are available for purchase from Literati Bookstore

Praise

  • “A fresh perspective on revision that should inspire even apprehensive writers."Kirkus Reviews
     
Back to Table of Contents