All of It Singing

All of It Singing
New and Selected Poems
Linda Gregg

“[A] much-needed retrospective of the 30-year career of this beloved, if too little known, poet.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

Winner of the William Carlos Willams Award of the Poetry Society of America
Winner of the Jackson Poetry Prize of Poets & Writers
Winner of the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize of the Academy of American Poets
Winner of the American Book Award of the Before Columbus Foundation

About the Book

Now available in paperback, the award-winning retrospective by Linda Gregg, “one of the best poets in America”—Gerald Stern

Worlds out of time still exist.
Worlds of achievement out of mind and remembering
just as the poem lasts.
In the concert of being present.

—from “Arriving”

Linda Gregg’s abiding presence in American poetry for more than thirty years is a testament to the longevity of art and the spirit. All of It Singing collects the ongoing work of Gregg’s career in one book, including poetry from her six previous volumes and more than twenty remarkable new poems.

All of It Singing received the 2009 Jackson Poetry Prize from Poets & Writers, the 2009 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize from the Academy of American Poets, the 2009 William Carlos Williams Award from the Poetry Society of America, and the 2009 American Book Award from the Before Columbus Foundation.

Additional Reviews

“An elegiac aura of timelessness in her images.”—Poetry

“The imagery is Aegean, the legacy of five years Gregg spent in Greece. She punctuates the poems with sea-gazing, descriptive gaps that force blankness on the mind.”—Los Angeles Times

“[Gregg’s] poems are as pure and clear and elemental as the Greek light and the dramatic action as sharply portrayed as in classical art.”—American Poet